WEBHOF_FULL_LOGO croppedWe are delighted to announce the reinstatement of the West Auckland Business Hall of Fame Awards (formerly known as the Waitakere Business Hall of Fame) to celebrate and foster business success in our region.

The Waitakere Business Hall of Fame originally operated under the Waitakere Enterprise Trust Board. It honoured the achievements of individuals who had a profound impact on the prosperity, growth, heritage, culture and community of West Auckland. The awards fell by the wayside following the amalgamation of Waitakere City with the “Super City”. Now they are being relaunched under the new title of “BNZ West Auckland Business Hall of Fame”.

Auckland Tourism Events and Economic Development (ATEED) is organising the awards on behalf of the West Auckland Business Club, the Rosebank Business Association and UHY Haines Norton. We are proud to continue this legacy to appreciate and foster business success and are thankful of the support of the BNZ which has helped make the awards possible.

This year we will be honouring two local businessmen: Joe Babich ONZM of Babich Wines, and John Barnett founding owner of South Pacific Pictures – each of whom has made a significant contribution to economic growth, not only in West Auckland but in New Zealand as a whole.

We are hosting a special gala luncheon and induction ceremony on Thursday 30th June 2016. This will be the first of an annual celebration of the legacy of entrepreneurship in the West. If you would like to attend this event, please go to http://www.aucklandnz.com/business/bnz-west-auckland-business-hall-of-fame to register and purchase tickets.

Each laureate has a story of boldness, initiative, innovation and success contributing greatly to their specific communities. Our existing West Auckland Business Hall of Fame members are:

Peter Babich MBE Arthur Hughes OBE (deceased)
Sir Tom Clark (deceased) Joe Macky
Brian Corban CNZM QSO Bryan Mogridge ONZM BSc
Assid Abraham Corban (deceased) Henry B Norcross
Tony Covic QSO Philip Revell
Ross Dallow QPM, NZSSM (Erebus) John Ritchie (deceased)
Rosamari “Rose” and Jakov “Jim” Delegat Mick Shanahan (deceased)
Sir Graeme Douglas MNZM FPS Murray Spearman MNZM
Tony Hambrook Sir Kenneth Stevens KNZM
Sir Robert “Bob” Harvey KNZM QSO Karen Walker CNZM
Bryan Heron MNZM and Pat Heron